Maybelline The Mega Plush Volum’ Express Mascara

While the Debenhams beauty hall might tempt you, you really don’t need to go with all-luxury-everything when it comes to make-up. My daily getup incorporates everything from Collection 2000 to Chanel. I get more of a kick out of buying super-cheap make up because it’s so much more gratifying to find a winning bargain product than it is to find one you love for, say, forty quid; it makes me feel like I’ve unearthed a hidden gem.

Mascara is my favourite thing to buy on the cheap because, more often than not, it’s just as good for a fiver as it is for £25. My most recent purchase cost me just under £4 from B&M Bargains (I’ve already mentioned my love of the place). In typically long-winded Maybelline fashion, it’s called The Mega Plus Volum’ Express Mascara. I’d never heard of it until I picked it up in B&M; a little digging has shown me it first came to market in 2012.

This was Maybelline’s first go at a ‘gel-mousse’ formula, which allegedly contains “40% less hard waxes for massive yet supple lashes. The patented Flexor Brush gently coats every lash with mega volume that’s never stiff and never brittle.”

20170805_155407.jpg

So, does it work?

You’ve got to hand it to that gel-mousse stuff, because my lashes feel much softer than usual when wearing this mascara. It feels as if I have no mascara on, even when wearing a couple of coats. You know how, when wearing some mascaras, you can touch your lashes and they feel all dry and bulky? You don’t get that feeling with this mascara. The finish is really natural. For a long-lashed person like myself this is great, but I can imagine this might not be the perfect match for those who want a dramatic finish and lots of volume or length. It’s not all great, though: the brush is just odd. It bends. It wobbles. It leaves you with a lot of product under your eyes if you’re not steady-handed. It took me about 5 or 6 attempts to work out how to apply this mascara without smudging it all over my face (there’s no amazing hack, by the way – the key is to just be really slow and really gently with the application).

The good bits

  • You get a lovely, light finish
  • Your lashes really do feel lovely and soft when you’ve got it on
  • It’s easy to remove
  • A good all-rounder if you’re just looking for a ‘lightweight’, cheap mascara to wear on your days off or over lazy weekends

The bad bits

  • The brush is badly designed; it’s flexible but I’m not sure why
  • Not one for you if you want long, voluminous, dramatic lashes

Overall rating

6/10

Would I repurchase?

Probably not. It’s not terrible by any means and I will wear this again, but I think there are better options elsewhere on the high street (and in B&M…).

 

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

