NYX Soft Matte Lip Creams – Antwerp & Morocco – Review

NYX soft matte lip creams

After writing about my abysmal experience with NYX Lip Lingerie, for the sake of balance I’m going to talk about a NYX lip product that I actually do like: its Soft Matte Lip Creams. I had to hit three deadlines today and, as per sod’s law, today was also the second day of my period (if you know, you know), so I felt very blessed when my Feelunique parcel arrived, part of which included a couple of Soft Matte Lip Creams in shiny new shades: Morocco and Antwerp.

I don’t know whether it’s because they’re £6 or because the packaging is compact, but there’s something about these lip creams that makes them feel a bit too old to use them. If my little sister, who never wears lipstick, wanted to try out a lip formula then I would recommend these to her. They go on very smoothly, they smell nice and the colours are pretty rich (OK, for six quid, these colours are very rich). Again, for the price, the longevity is brilliant.

I have two quibbles with these lip prodcuts: firstly, they can be streaky, but they take a little while to go completely matte (actually, is this another negative point…?!) so you’ve time to layer it up until it looks OK. My second issue is purely aesthetic, even though we’re talking cosmetics: the packaging does not accurately represent the colour of the product inside.

NYX Antwerp

I’ll start with Antwerp. It’s a bright pink. I reiterate: bright. My swatch at the top of this post, along with these pictures from Alexandrine at My Fav Looks, are the most accurate representations of the true colour I’ve seen. I’m wearing it in the picture above but, again, it’s turned out to be like everyone else’s on the internet by looking lighter than it actually is.

It’s actually very similar (colour-wise, not texturally) to another of my favourite bright magenta-leaning pinks, Chanel Rouge Coco in Romy, which I’ve dropped a pic of below for your reference. Again, it doesn’t look as bright as it is IRL!

rouge coco romy
Chanel Rouge Coco in Romy. It’s similar – shade-wise, not finish-wise – to NYX’s SMLC in Antwerp. Both are much brighter in reality!

nyx-morocco.jpg

And here’s Morocco. It’s an extremely vibrant, orange-toned red, so you need to be very careful with the application as it’s so easy to fall outside the lines. I don’t use lip liner (let me live!), but I’d hazard a guess that this is the sort of high-impact, easy-to-cock-up colour that you might want to use a liner with if you want a super-accurate shape.

This stuff practically glows because it’s so bright. I’m into it. My all-time favourite lip colour is NARS’s Red Square, and I would say that Morocco is a decent dupe. The colours aren’t exactly the same – I’d say Red Square isn’t as bright but, then again, the formula of a Velvet Matte Lip Pencil is completely different to that of these Soft Matte Lip Creams. Morocco seems a bit more high-impact. But it’s also more gloopy and easy to mess up than NARS’s smooth lip pencil, so I think NARS wins out. I’ll be holding onto this one, though.

The best bits

  • Cheap and very cheerful
  • The smell
  • The texture – it feels comfortable on your lips and not drying
  • Good for liquid lipstick newbies
  • Expansive shade range
  • Morocco is a sort-of dupe for NARS’s Red Square
  • Antwerp is a sort-of dupe for Chanel’s Romy

The worst bits

  • The colours on the tube don’t match the colours inside
  • Can be streaky upon application (I’ve found this depends on the shade)
  • This hasn’t happened with the shades above, but I’ve found in the past that the formula occasionally has pesky little clumps in it. But for six quid, you can’t really complain.

Rating: 7/10

Would I repurchase? Yes

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

