Welcome!

Well, this should be interesting! I have started – and, in turn, neglected and eventually forgotten about – countless blogs over the years.

I suppose I should begin with a bit of info about me.

I write for a living. When I’m not writing I’m either studying, drinking, or smothering my face in lotions and potions in the hope that, one day, I will wake up with the skin of an angel. It still hasn’t happened (I concede that this might have something to do with the drinking), but I’m not one for quitting – unless we’re talking about my many defunct blogs, of course, which are an exception to the rule.

There are two reasons I wanted to start this blog. Firstly, I’m yet to find a beauty blog that makes my heart sing. That’s not to say that I don’t read, and enjoy, many beauty blogs. They’re infinitely less vacuous than fashion blogs, so I can deal with them; they have a purpose. I check up on Into the Gloss daily, but I’m all too aware that much of the content is sponsored (sneaky, yeah, but it’s surprisingly common; we all have bills to pay). I also admire Caroline Hirons’ honesty, and I trust her recommendations, but she has much more spending power than me; some of the stuff she recommends would bankrupt me for the rest of the month if I bought them. Plus, I’m in my 20s, so a lot of the stuff Lady Hirons recommends isn’t suitable for me… yet. I also think that Sali Hughes is a megababe – I devour her Guardian columns because she writes with such passion for beauty products that I can’t help but get sucked in. I think that Jane Cunningham knows her stuff so, again, I trust her. And over on YouTube, Wayne Goss has changed the way I think about applying my make-up. I also adore Cassie at ThriftThick for never being afraid to say what she thinks.

The main issue I have with many beauty blogs out there is that they are so positive. Either it’s because the bloggers only review products they like (fair dos: we can’t all be Negative Nancys) or because they only dare to review products kindly because they received them as gifts and don’t want to piss off the PRs. I also read blogs sometimes and find the reviews are really vague. I don’t want to be the kind of blogger who writes a review just for the sake of it – as my mum has always told me, if you don’t have anything useful to say then don’t say anything at all – so I’m only going to write about products I have strong opinions on. If I buy something and I hate it, I will tell you, and I will tell you why. I promise. I also won’t write skincare reviews until I’ve used the product for an adequate amount of time, in order to give a more reliable verdict.

The other reason I want to write a beauty blog without the BS? It’s to do with that thing I said before about writing for a living. I dabble in other things because duh, I’m a millennial so I have many side-hustles, but I’m a copywriter most of the time. In layman’s terms, copywriting is marketing for people who are good with words. I write stuff for brands to help to make their products/services seem desirable.

Can you see where I’m going with this?

I know how gushy branding works; it’s my job to do so. I sometimes write product descriptions on websites that make that pair of shoes (or that hairbrush, or that jar of coffee… you get the picture) sound like a dream to you. I can, therefore, see straight through beauty industry jargon and pseudoscience (i.e. all those meaningless science-y words chucked onto ad campaigns and bottles of goop all around the world). I can also see through the fact that, just because something is expensive, it doesn’t mean that it’s good. Snobbery sucks, so it would be great if, through this blog, I could demonstrate that you don’t have to break the bank in order to look lush. However, I will say that sometimes you do get what you pay for, and no beauty product is going to ‘fix’ you.

Thanks for reading, anyway! I’ll be back here before too long with my first review.

Leave a Reply

